BRT Advisory Committee


BostonBRT has named ten members to a new committee that will guide Gold Standard bus rapid transit advocacy throughout the state over the coming months. Made up of political, business, and community leaders, the Advisory Committee will provide key counsel to BostonBRT, including determining the final grantees of the initiative’s statewide Request for Proposals to pilot BRT projects in local communities.

The members of the BostonBRT Advisory Committee are:

·      Chris Dempsey, Executive Director, Transportation for Massachusetts

·      Richard A. Dimino, President & CEO, A Better City

·      Russell E. Holmes, Massachusetts State Representative, 6th Suffolk District

·      Clayton Lane (ex officio), CEO, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy (ITDP)

·      Thomas M. McGee, Massachusetts State Senator, 3rd Essex District

·      Jesse Mermell, President, Alliance for Business Leadership

·      Jeannette Orsino, Executive Director, Massachusetts Association of Regional Transit Authorities (MARTA)

·      James E. Rooney, President & CEO, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

·      Byron Rushing, Massachusetts State Representative, 9th Suffolk District

·      Stacy Thompson, Executive Director, LivableStreets Alliance


While Greater Boston had seen BRT proposals in the past, there had never been a technical analysis of whether and how it might serve the entire area. With technical analysis from ITDP, the Study Group posed for the first time whether BRT is right for Greater Boston, and if so, where it makes the most sense.

Greater Boston Bus Rapid Transit Study Group:

Eric Bourassa, Metropolitan Area Planning Council

Rick Dimino, A Better City

Jackie Douglas, MassDOT

Ben Forman, MassINC

Chris Hart, Institute for Human Centered Design

Melissa Jones, Boston LISC

Malia Lazu, Epicenter Community

David Lee, Stull & Lee Inc., Architecture and Planning

Bill Lyons, Urban Land Institute of Boston

Tom Nally, A Better City

David Price, Nuestra Comunidad Development Corporation

Jessica Robertson, Metropolitan Area Planning Council

Paul Schimek, TranSystems

Darnell Williams, Urban League of Eastern Massachusetts

Chris Zegras, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Technical support:

The Institute for Transportation & Development Policy

Project Facilitation:

The Consensus Building Institute

The BRT Study Group was convened and funded by:

The Barr Foundation

The Barr Foundation supported the Greater Boston BRT Study Group as part of its climate program, acknowledging that any serious efforts to address climate change must include transportation.

For more information on the Barr Foundation or the Greater Boston BRT Study Group, contact Senior Program Officer for Climate Mary Skelton Roberts at